A recent effort to decriminalize cannabis possession has failed in New Hampshire.
Three out of five adults in New Hampshire (63%) support removing criminal penalties for marijuana possession, according to a WMUR Granite State Poll released last week. Only 27% said they were opposed. New Hampshire is the only state in New England that treats simple marijuana possession as a criminal offense with the potential for jail time.
HB 618, which the House approved 297-67 in March, would have made possession of up to one-half ounce of marijuana a civil violation punishable by a fine of $100 for a first offense, $200 for a second offense, and $500 for a third or subsequent offense. Under current state law, possession of any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in prison and a fine of up to $2,000.
After Senators voted 9-15 to overturn the Judiciary Committee’s recommendation that the bill be killed, Sens. Jeb Bradley (R-Wolfeboro) and David Pierce (D-Etna) proposed a compromise floor amendment to HB 618. Four senators argued strongly against the bill and the amendment . . . Senators were unable to agree on the language and the bill was tabled.
There’s always tomorrow. It does not matter how many times you get knocked down. It does matter how many time you get back up.
Thanks to the Marijuana Policy Project for this report.
[image: Google images “New Hampshire”]
Featured Partner: Meet All Your Local Marijuana Needs (Buy Sell Buds) Anonymously In Real-Time For FREE
Leafedin – Weed App – Find Weed Near You! Meet Any of Your Marijuana Product or Labor Needs Locally in Real-Time! Free Anonymous Map Weed App, Works On Any Device, Sign-Up In Seconds and Find Bud Connects Marijuana Work or Labor, New Clients, etc INSTANTLY!