DJ Drama’s “Third Power” Listening Party

Last Thursday Lenny and I took a short train ride over to Skyline Studies in Manhattan to checkout DJ Drama’s “Third Power” album listening party. As we road the elevator up, I was assuming to only see DJ Drama there. Boy was I wrong about that. After I got my free drink of Ciroc at the open bar, Maino walked right past me. Once I saw him, I knew this was going to be 10 times better than I planned. Then Cam’Ron walked in the building. Yup, September 22, 2011 I got to meet Cam’Ron.Sorry, back to the music.

DJ Drama is now on his third album, hence why it is called “Third Power”. He stepped away from the Gangsta Grillz series with his new deal with E1. Don’t get it twisted, his lineups on this album are still perfectly put together. Drama started the listening party out with his hit single “Oh My” which features Wiz Khalifa, Fabolous, and Roscoe Dash. He then moved right into Young Jeezy and Freedie Gibbs “Rough” track. Drama said a few things about the struggle Jeezy and his relationship has gone through. The situation seems to be going good now. Drama has been the DJ for Jeezzy’s last two mixtapes. 

Big thanks to my girl JaimeLou.

Now to the exclusives. It was obvious that Drama had a song with Maino since he was there. “Hand of God” will be the title and Maino flies  in over a quick clap trap sounding beat. It has been sometime since I’ve heard Maino over unused production. He’s been releasing a lot of freestyles that lead to his Respect The Juxs mixtape. Basically, killing everyone on their own beats. This time he is all alone, just Maino and Drama on the track. Drama letting Maino cook alone is keen. At that point it was my favorite song on the album. First song in and it’s my favorite. Do I sound like a groupie?

Next up was the Slimes from Harlem. Cam’Ron, Vado, and Cam’s new female artist Jaz. I knew Cam wold have to be on the album after the past two Boss of All Boss’s mixtapes. That song gives you Harlem music in a nut shell.

Then Drama speaks about Meek Mill being on the next track, right then and there I lowkey wanted everyone to stop talking so I could hear this track. Meek Mill does his usual and beats the track up. After that song I kinda lost track of the music because of the open bar sponsored by Ciroc. But the first 5 songs were really good minus “Oh My”.

Big thanks to my girl JaimeLou for getting us in and DJ Drama for putting on this for the people. Album drops October 11. Track list courtesy of Rap Radar.

1. Oh My Ft. Fabolous, Wiz Khalifa & Roscoe Dash
2. Rough Ft. Freddie Gibbs & Young Jeezy
3. Hand Of God Ft. Maino
4. Oh Baby Ft. Cam’Ron, Vado & Jaz
5. Never See You Again Ft. Wale & Talia Coles
6. Lay Low Ft. Meek Mill, Young Chris & Freeway
7. Ain’t No Way Around It Ft. Future
8. Undercover Ft. J. Cole & Chris Brown
9. Everything That Glitters Ft. Pusha T & French Montana
10. Me And My Money Ft. Gucci Mane
11. So Paid Ft. Red Cafe & 2 Chainz
12. Take My City Ft. B.o.B. & Crooked I
13. Lockdown Ft. Ya Boy & Akon
14. Oh My (Remix) Ft. Trey Songz, 2 Chainz & Big Sean

Featured Partner: Meet All Your Local Marijuana Needs (Buy Sell Buds) Anonymously In Real-Time For FREE

Leafedin – Weed App – Find Weed Near You! Meet Any of Your Marijuana Product or Labor Needs Locally in Real-Time! Free Anonymous Map Weed App, Works On Any Device, Sign-Up In Seconds and Find Bud Connects Marijuana Work or Labor, New Clients, etc INSTANTLY!


Author: MisterMaryJane

I type stuff on a computer. - @MisterMaryJane

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This