It seems like it wasn’t that long ago that Michelle Wie exploded onto the golf scene and according to the “experts” she was supposed to be the fully asian, female version of Tiger Woods. She’s still workin’ on that.
Despite the fact that she is yet to actually win an event at the professional level, she actually looked pretty this weekend at the State Farm Classic in Springfield, Illinois.
Then she made a pretty basic mistake… she failed to sign her scorecard before leaving the scoring area.
That mistake got her disqualified from the tournament. Doh!
Then, minutes after tapping in her last putt of the third round, Wie sat red-eyed at a folding table in front of a couple dozen baffled reporters and photographers, explaining why she’d been disqualified from the tournament.
The 18-year-old, playing her best golf of the year, broke one of the game’s most basic rules: She failed to sign her scorecard before leaving the scoring area.
“I don’t know why or how it happened,” Wie said. […]
Sue Witters, the LPGA’s director of tournament competitions, disqualified Wie in a small office in an LPGA trailer at the course after asking her what had happened.
“I felt like I was telling somebody that there was no Santa Claus,” Witters said.
Thats a classic quote. “I felt like I was telling somebody that there was no Santa Claus.”
Why is this even a rule in golf though? What do they think that people are going to cheat on their scorecard? Even with all the fans, announcers and cameras all around. Who knows but this is just another reason why I’d rather watch Saturday morning cartoons.
If anyone can explain this rule to me, please do so.